I like Big BUNS!

Hmm so I got hooked on to baking bread full-time now.. Though I’m no where near becoming a pro.. With a 10 month old, its not so surprising.

But I’ve been trying my hand at White Bread and Wheat bread. So far I’ve had success only with the White Bread and 2 failures with the Wheat bread. There was a demand for Milk Bread at home and I set about looking for recipes for the same.

 

As I was going through a number of recipes, one thing became really clear to me. Almost  9 out of 10 of the recipes had egg in them!

Now I’m not a vegan, but I did not want to use an egg in bread. I just kept thinking egg will give it a  very cake-y quality. I maybe wrong.

So there was this other recipe I came across. The Chinese Hokkaido Milk Bread. There were 2 versions, with egg and the egg-less version.

 

Just when I thought I would try the egg-less one.. The whole method seemed like such a hassle. I had to make a roux starter (tangzhong) and all that.

I wanted a bread recipe that didn’t tire me out just thinking about it.

Finally I came across the perfect recipe! Thank you Josephine 🙂

http://yummyeasycooking.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/super-soft-and-fluffy-milk-bread.html

Here’s the Video Link:

 

I’ve already made it 5 times.. Once every 2 days cos its gone, as soon as its out of the oven!

The best part is I just mix it up and pop it in the fridge at bedtime.. I take it out in the morning and bake it.

 

I tried doubling the recipe and even making the flour out to 3 cups. It turned out perfect EVERY SINGLE TIME! So soft and fluffy, you end up eating more than you should. In one day one serving.

 

So here’s the measurements for 3 cups of flour:

All purpose Flour- 3 cup

Salt-  3/4 tsp

Sugar- 3 tbsp

Butter- 45 g

Yeast- 1.5 tsp

Milk- 1.5 cups

Sugar for the yeast- 1.5 tsp.

 

Follow the instructions as per the video.

 

A FEW OBSERVATIONS AND NOTES:

1. The cold rise or Cold fermentation.

Cold rise for more than 6 hours as opposed to letting the yeast dough rise in a warm spot for 2 hours gives better flavor and a more softer crumb. I have seen a much better result allowing the dough to sit for a cold rise.

2. The poke test

Checking if the dough has risen enough in the first rise is crucial. Just poke your finger into the middle of the dough all the way through.

The hole will stay and the dough will deflate a little. This means your first rise is over.

 

3. The window pane test.

I didn’t know about this until a couple of weeks back. And since then its been a life saver.

This test helps you to know if the gluten has developed enough. If it hasn’t the bread wont rise properly in the oven or hold its structure.

The test: Pull off some dough in your hands. With your fore fingers and thumbs pull the dough apart. Hold it across a window (optional 😉 )

If it stretches without breaking then your gluten has developed. If it breaks then you have to knead the dough again. I feel beating the daylights out of the dough, while kneading, helps. (It certainly helps you, if you picture it to be someone you are not particularly fond of.)

 

4.  Test to see if bread is ready for Baking 

After the second rise, check if the bread has done proving. Press your finger on top of the loaf ever so slightly. It should leave an impression and the impression should start disappearing. If that happens, then pop the bread into the preheated oven ASAP.

5. Turn the bread

Halfway through the baking time, turn the pan. This ensures even baking and browning at all sides.

5. Removing the bread.

Remove the bread as soon as its done. From the oven as well as the loaf pan. Or else you will end up with a soggy mess.

If you want a softer crust, cover the top with foil after putting the bread on a wire rack to cool. If you like it crispy, do not cover.

 

6. ALLOW THE BREAD TO COOL!

Finally the most important step! Allow the bread to cool at least for 2 hours. I know its hard to resist and all you want to do is dig into the aromatic warm bread as soon as its out of the oven. Believe me, I’ve done it more times than I can count. And I immediately beat myself up. Its okay, it happens. Eventually, you will learn patience. Or not.

But bear in mind, the bread isn’t finished cooking yet. Allow it to cool. If you cut in too early it’ll have a very yeasty smell and a dry crumb. All that hard work for nothing.

 

I’ve used this to make hamburger buns as well. The top sprinkled with some sesame seeds. Just remember to cut down on the sugar and slightly increase the salt. It turns out amazing!

 

So happy baking!

 

 

A Penny For Your Thoughts :)

