New Adventures!

Well, hello there!

Its been a long time since I came to this little virtual corner of mine..

I’ve gotten a little busy, and well as they say, Life tends to get in between and poke its ugly little head!

Anyway, being back here typing up a post seems so weird and it seems like I have to re-learn the basics of WordPress again!!! UGGGGGH :/

And there seems to be quite a few changes in the layout of WordPress as well.. Hmmm

Anyhoo, I wasn’t completely useless the whole time I was away.. I like to be creatively busy as much as I can, and one little venture I undertook was to go for Sewing lessons!

Its kept me pretty busy.. and Im thankful for it.. I was never much of a sewing person anyway, but I did know the basics and I could mend tattered clothes.

The lessons were for Dress-making.. The Indian Salwar Kameez and The Saree Blouse..

Now, I can proudly shout out to the world that I can sew my own dresses yaay!! (As long as its for casual wear, if its for a friends wedding -THE HELL ITS GOING TO A PROFESSIONAL TOP NOTCH TAILOR! :P)

The whole adventure was for 2 months, and I must say I was a pretty fast learner, and hence the entire learning process was glitch-free..

Before I babble on and on about the different dress making aspects and things.. Lets get down to one of the most important thing we need while cutting out a pattern and that I was so stupid enough to not know this before, and how Im a couple of Salwar Kurtis late!

Its a Pattern-Weight or a Dress-making Weight!

It was totally out of the blue.. I was going through the things needed to make the cutting process easier.. and believe me, the cutting process is the most creatively stimulating part of the Dress-making routine.. Sewing is a no-brainer as long as you get the cuts and nips right!

And there was my bag of Gold, as point number one! DRESSMAKING WEIGHTS! No more pins, no more plates and bowls lying around being used as weights.. No more using my knee and doing Weird Gymnastic postures.. Errm, that was a bit painful..

So, I first tried out this Pattern Weight, which I fell in love with because of her choice in fabric and Pattern, my my the Chevron! Oooh lala

pattern-weights-title

Heres the link to this beauutiful and nifty little thing: Pattern Weights

 

(Her blog is worth checking out! 🙂 )

Then I did mine, and it wasnt as good-looking as hers because probably the fabric I used was too thin.. Its evident that I was so eager to try it out, that I didnt think this whole thing through! Anyway, I wanted more ideas, so I googled a variety of names.. (I didnt know it was called Pattern Weights)

Then I found this, and it seemed like an even more simpler idea (filling it up with rice! I didnt know rice could be heavy)

025

And heres the link: Triangular Pattern Weight

I tried both of them! For the triangular one, I didnt want to repeat the same mistake as the previous one, So I used two pieces of fabric and made it thick enough.. Also as an added touch I sewed a bit of Ribbon like a hoop to hold it easily.. ( ahem, no doubt “inspired” by this!)

Weights

(Credit: http://www.kathrynscrafts.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=380:dress-making-weights&catid=50:kathryns-challenge&Itemid=93)

Here’s mine! (I admit they are very crude versions.. and the Triangular one is hand stitched, in my effort to try it out right away I didnt even have the patience to use the sewing machine 😛 .. I get like this sometimes! )
My favourite is the Triangular one as it seems like its a bit easier to handle than the Pillow type one! But the BB’s are heavier..

.                 10522373_10152625803036062_1308559831505026835_o10329874_10152625801866062_8818267535619694094_o

10562549_10152625800001062_8520929876242215761_o

So all you Sew- ers out there, this is a must have tool and have atleast a pair of them to make your cutting tasks easier (even if life isnt sometimes!)

 

Ciao, 

Till the next post!

A Penny For Your Thoughts :)

