The Mysterious Afghan Treble Crochet- Part 1

Hey guys, a couple of days back I came across a very beautiful pattern on Pinterest.

It was described by many as : “a bed of roses”

Well it really was pretty!! (if you wanna check it out, just go Google Afghan Treble Crochet in Images, and most probably the first result, that turns up is that.. Its really pretty with a nice pink coloured flowery inside and a solid grey colour as the edging.

When I tried to search for its patterns , I found  nothing. Nada, zilch!

So I gave up, knowing this is gonna go down the same path as the many other patterns I loved but couldn’t do it because I had no explicit instructions!!

Anyway I started working on my other swatches… but I really couldn’t put this pattern off my mind..

So I pulled up the picture.. and just sat and stared at it..

I’ve heard and even seen some people (my aunt, for instance) who have eidetic memory.. they just get one good look at the picture or a sample and get started on it, and what they make turns up even more prettier than the original!

But I never could.. apparently the genes didn’t run in this side of the family 😥

Anyway, after staring at the picture for so long.. I thought I’ll give it a shot..

I first thought, its actually a square and it has to be started from the edges.. but then I came across a tiny info which said its actually done in circles!

With that  tip… I started my pursuit of the unknown.. looking at the petals I could figure out they were 3 trebles squished into one..

AND FINALLY FOR THE FIRST TIME (hopefully not the last) IN MY LIFE I DID SOMETHING COMPLETELY BY JUST LOOKING AT A PATTERN!! AND IT TURNED OUT AWESOME!!! (awesome according to my standard, anyway)

TA-DAAAAH!!!  *cue drum roll* Ta Dah!

 

It may not look like much, because its just a rough swatch.. with perfect colours its gonna look beautiful!! (I think it looks like a bed of jasmine. Okay, now Im really throwing it out there.. )

For the Instructions.. I’m gonna split it up into steps to make it easier to understand: the single flower, 2nd circle, 3rd circle, the edging.

Step 1: Making the single flower

Single flower

 A. Make a magic circle and chain 4,

Pic 2

 

 B. -YO twice and insert into the ring.

-YO, draw up a loop. You’ll have 4 loops on the hook. (we’re making a    treble)

-YO pull through the first 2 loops, 3 loops remain on the hook

-YO, pull through 2 loops again, and you’ll have loops remaining on the hook, leave  it               as it is

pic 3

 C. Repeat B (which is actually an incomplete treble) all over again, now you’ll have 3 loops         on the hook. [a 4 chain(which acts as a treble) and 2  trebles beneath the 3 loops]

D. Now YO and pull through all the 3 loops.

pic 4

 

You’ll find that all those 3 stitches have come under one stitch, thus giving it a petal look.

  E.   Chain 5,  and then repeat “B” 3 times then do “D”.  You got the second petal.

Repeat “E”  after every petal till you get 6 petals.

pic 5

       After the 6th petal, make 5 chains and slip stitch into the chain stitch at the tip of the                1st  petal we did. (shown above)

You’ll end up with something that looks like a flower inside a hexagon.

Then pull the magic circle tight, and there you have it. Our first step completed.

Pic 6

 

Step 2: 2nd circle of flowers

 second circle

   

Start by making 4 chain stitches,

    F. -then YO twice and insert into the slipstitch you made previously.

-YO, draw up a loop. You’ll have 4 loops on the hook.

-YO pull through the first 2 loops, 3 loops remain on the hook

-YO again pull through 2 loops again, and you’ll have loops remaining on the hook,                      leave it as it is

Repeat “F” again and you’ll have 3 loops on the hook. [a 4 chain(which acts as a treble)           and 2  trebles beneath it]  (Shown Below)

pic 7   

G. Now YO and pull through all the 3 loops. You’ll get a petal.

H. Chain 5 and then repeat “F” 3 times (in the same slipstitch) and do “G”.

Repeat “H” again.

Basically what we’re doing is making 3 petals in one stitch (the slipstitch). I was dubious as  to whether the stitch will hold or break.. But it did hold.

We’ll call these 3 petals together as a SET.

J. YO twice and insert into the chain at the tip of the next petal as shown

pic 8

 

Repeat the steps of “F”all over till you get 3 trebles beneath and 4 loops (3 from the trebles and 1 from the tip of the adjacent petal) on the hook.

And proceed to make 3 petals (a SET) on the same stitch as explained previously.

You have to end up with a total of 6 sets (with 3 petals each) finally.

 

2 sets of petal

 

And to complete the circle, just slip stitch into the chain stitch at the tip of the 1st petal we did.. (shown in red)

Guys, Im gonna take a break here (Apparently writing down the instructions is harder than doing a pattern!)..

I’ll post the rest in tomorrow’s post..

Till then leave me your comments and let me know  if this was understandable.. What with the pictures and all.. (for which I worked twice as hard!!)

If not, I’ll edit this and make part 2 more clearer..

 

 

Ciao,

Rocky

P.S: Please zoom into the pics to see the text. It was normal, and somehow got shrunk when I uploaded it! And so my battle with pictures continue.. :/

3 thoughts on “The Mysterious Afghan Treble Crochet- Part 1

  1. Hello Rocky,

    Thank you for your clear and very thorough tutorial. I think your white version is lovely, just like jasmine flowers

    I, too, have seen the pattern you refer to, and was intrigued enough to finally land here because I wanted to try it! I have used the pattern to do a couple of squares for charity (at Knit a Square, search for “Sunny yellow petals” if you want to see one) – I think it will add a lovely texture to some of the blankets that the AIDs orphans will be receiving.

    I am going to link other members to this page…hope you don’t mind 🙂

    Thanks again, happy crocheting!
    Linda R

A Penny For Your Thoughts :)

